Today one direction who knows what tomorrow will bring…


http://docandersen.podbean.com
http://docandersen.wordpress.com
https://scottoandersen.wordpress.com
My Amazon author page!!!!
http://www.safegov.org

I normally take notes the day before and then from those notes write my serious blog. Hence its tendency to run along specific blog arcs like the current Law of Innovation arc. This blog I tend towards more Virginia Wolfe style stream of consciousness writing. I let the words fall from my fingers where they may. That is why on this blog you see poems and sometimes disconnected sections of text. Long connected stories I push over to my other blog in the tradition of the great English writers of the 18th and 19th centuries (serial novels).

There are times when this blog is devoted to the things around me. Yesterday I dived into the vast and deep ocean that is family. All of the things that swirl around me like fireflies on a summers eve. I miss a summer’s eve with fireflies. Although I have to say that the firefly population in Indiana has gone down from my childhood or as is often the case my idealized memory isn’t the same as reality.

Then again I devote this blog to the technology reviews that are a piece of me. I started doing technology reviews when I was running “Kindle The Flame” many years ago. That was a dream of mine to start a journal devoted to improving teaching. Kindle had a good run. I wrote reviews for a startup newspaper in Bloomington Indiana, it didn’t make it but I did restaurant reviews for them. I used to host a web site and post reviews there as well under the moniker “The Savvy Tech Guy” but that as well faded. Mostly the last one faded because I started doing Shameless Reviews here on this blog. It should be noted that I only do blogs about things I really like. It has to do with the fact that I cull blogs about things I am interested in. I review them and find out the what and why of the overall solution. I tend to only buy the things I think will work for me. That means I only review things I knew I would like before I bought them. The goal of the review being to help other people along the path of what they are looking for.

Random Thoughts and Deep Thoughts come from the old Saturday Night Live character Jack Handy. They used to have a segment called Deep Thoughts and I’ve modeled both my infrequent Deep Thoughts and my more frequent Random Thoughts after that segment from the early 80’s I believe.

I try as much as I can to keep politics out of my blog. I do on occasion post political views on the blog but I do try to denote that they are my opinion and that a rant is coming. One of the things I used to do on the DTS-L listserv (when it had thousands of members) was post difficult questions. I still post the questions just on this blog as DTS-l is now lost and gone forever. DTS-L was the listserv of the Society of Dead Teachers.

Finally I post a piece of myself here. The great milestones in the life I live. Messages left for my children to read after I am gone (If they are still around by then). Moments in my children’s lives, milestones that shouldn’t be forgotten. My daughter turning 18 and then 21, graduating from High School, starting college, getting her driver’s licenses. The boys starting high school, learning to swim, going off for their first week of camp. There are so many moments in our lives that we should share more. I share those here.

Today my stream actually pretty much flowed in one direction.

.doc

Scott Andersen

IASA Fellow.

Leave a comment