Loving you


Today is my 18th wedding anniversary. While i won’t lie to you and say marriage is always a bed of roses, there are many benefits to working hard on something that returns so much.

18 years ago I was a school teacher (in my last year – just resigned) moving to Cincinnati Ohio. I was a runner and a bit of a geek. A wonderful woman that i had met a number of times over the years decided she saw something wonderful in me (our future children for one, our future together was the other). To this day i don’t know why someone as cool as my wife thought she saw something special in me, but she did, she has and thank goodness still does.

I can say that my images of the future involve getting our children through college (and my lovely wife is now back in college so her as well) and then retiring to someplace where we can enjoy our grandchildren (if they come or our children if they don’t have children) and be together.

After 18 years she remains my vision. Sure it’s a lot of work, this marriage thing. But after 18 years I have to say it’s still worth the effort.

I once wrote my wife a song, “Talk to me.” On this day we celebrate our 18th year of marriage I leave you with three things that have kept us together.

  1. BE Friends –
  2. Talk!
  3. Care, in the end you will find that you have different goals and dreams often. No two people can live years together and not develop dreams that are separate fROM where they started. The thing you have to do is dream together. Have something that you are both working for.

 

.Doc

Technorati Tags: ,,

Leave a comment